Denise Mina

The Less Dead

Online Event
Event now over
Catch up available

A brilliant and thought-provoking new book about identity and the value of a life, from the award-winning author of The Long Drop and Conviction. When Margo goes in search of her birth mother for the first time, she meets her aunt, Nikki, instead. Margo learns that her mother, Susan, was a sex worker murdered soon after Margo's adoption. To this day, Susan's killer has never been found. Nikki asks Margo for help. She has received threatening and haunting letters from the murderer, for decades. She is determined to find him, but she can't do it alone… Join Denise Mina as she introduces her heart-wrenching new thriller.

Denise Mina is the cream of the crop, an author who pushes the crime novel in new and exciting directions and never fails to deliver” – Ian Rankin

About the author: Denise Mina is the multi award-winning author of the Garnethill trilogy, the Paddy Meehan series and the Alex Morrow series. She has won the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award twice and was inducted into the Crime Writers’ Association Hall of Fame in 2014. The Long Drop won the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2017 and was named by The Times as one of the top ten crime novels of the decade. Denise has also written plays and graphic novels and presented television and radio programmes. 


In conversation with Lee Randall.


In association with the charity StageTEXT, this event will include live surtitles for people with hearing loss.

To find out more go to

Supported by The Castansa Trust.