Main Category


Ryan Van Winkle is a poet, live artist, podcaster and critic living in Edinburgh. His second collection, The Good Dark, won the Saltire Society’s 2015 Poetry Book of the Year award. His poems have appeared in New Writing Scotland, The Prairie Schooner and The American Poetry Review. As a member of Highlight Arts he has organised festivals and translation workshops in Syria, Pakistan and Iraq. He was awarded a Robert Louis Stevenson fellowship in 2012 and a residency at The Studios of Key West in 2016.


Scottish Gaelic Category


Maoilios Caimbeul / Myles Campbell worked as a high-school Gaelic teacher and as a creative writing tutor in Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, the Skye Gaelic College, where he was writer in residence in 2008. Maoilios / Myles has published eight poetry collections, his latest  being Tro Chloich na Sùla (Clàr, 2014), and eight novels for young people. Awards for his poetry include Dunleary Fèile Filiochta (1998), National Mod Bardic Crown (2002) and Wigtown Poetry Competition (2008). His collection Bailtean was short-listed for the 1987 Saltire award. He is currently the Honorary Bard for the Gaelic Society of Inverness.


Scots Category


Matthew Fitt is an award-winning Scots poet. Author of the kenspeckle ‘Kate o Shanter’s Tale’ and ground-breaking ‘But n Ben A-Go-Go’ and co-founder of the Itchy Coo imprint, his work with Scots has revolutionised attitudes towards the language in Scotland’s schools. A former Brounsbank Writing Fellow and Writer in Residence at Greater Pollock, he regularly advises government, local authorities and the media on Scots language issues and policy development. He is the official Scots translator of the Asterix series and for the Scottish Parliament.